There are archaeological finds to testify that the area was already inhabited in the Italic era, before the Romans, but the first mention of the town is found in the Catalogus Baronum of 1168, saying that Oderisio di Collepietro-Pagliara holds Tusciciam. It is clear that Tossicia, as the capital of the fiefdom, from the granting of the Marquisate to the Alarçon-Mendoza, has played a key role in the history of the entire Valley, if only for the fact that the royal legates resided here and in Isola del Gran Sasso.
During World War II, a local concentration camp was set up in Tossicia, one of the few that are known with certainty. Here people of Chinese and Roma origin were interned between October 21, 1940, and September 26, 1943. Up until today, you can still find images of Mussolini on one of the remaining buildings that was part of the camp. In order not to forget, the town council decided to erect a monument, created in Castelli, to honour the memory of the Roma that were persecuted in that period.
The romanesque church of Sant’Antonio Abate, in the square of the same name, boasts perhaps the most beautiful portal in “flamboyant Gothic” in the entire province. It is described in more detail on the Art pages of this website.
The church of Santa Maria Assunta, in the other part of town, is known for the statue of the Madonna della Provvidenza (Our Lady of Providence). It portrays Our Lady in a lying position, of which there are only two others in Italy, one in Assergi (AQ) and one in Tolentino (MC). This statue was stolen in the 1970s and then discovered in England, after a local from Tossicia recognized it in a television programme about a collector of Holy Mary icons. It is currently preserved and protected at the Sanctuary of San Gabriele in Isola del Gran Sasso, because unfortunately the church in Tossicia was badly damaged in the 2009 earthquake.